Polling begins in 288 Assembly constituencies of Maharashtra

Published: Oct 21, 2019, 9:31 am IST

Mumbai, Oct 21 (UNI) Voting began peacefully at 0700 hrs on Monday at 96,661 polling stations, spread over 288 Assembly constituencies of the second most populated state of the country, which goes to polls in a single phase. The main contest in Maharashtra is between the ruling Bharatiya Janata Party-Shiv Sena alliance and the opposition Indian National Congress-Nationalist Congress Party front.

The fate of 3,237 candidates will be sealed by an 8.95 crore-strong electorate, who will exercise their voting right on Monday, from 0700 hrs to 1800 hrs. In 2014 elections, BJP won 122 seats, the Sena-63, the Congress-42 and the NCP-41. BJP is contesting 164 seats, while its alliance Shiv Sena has fielded candidates on 126 seats. Congress has fielded 147 candidates and the ally NCP 121.

Results will be announced on October 24.