Odisha Chief Secretary Launched e-office system for CMC, OHPC

Bhubaneswar: Chief Secretary Sri Suresh Chandra Mahapatra, launched e-Office for Cuttack Municipal Corporation (CMC), Odisha Hydro Power Corporation (OHPC) and Shree Jagannath Sanskrit University (SJSU) today from the conference hall of State Lokseba Bhawan.

Launching the systems, Sri Mahapatra said, “E-Office system makes the Governance present and future ready. OSWAS and e-office are excellent examples of IT application in Governance. It has made the conduct of Government business more quick, accurate and responsive. Carrying bundles of files on veranda of the offices, pending of the files for months together, missing of the files, and making mischief with files are now stories of past”.

Office automation, added Sri Mahapatra also helped the people in number of ways. Running to Government offices for various G2C and G2B services were reduced to a visible extent. Now the people could apply for services from their home, Mo Seba Kendras and citizen service centers. They could track observations and queries about their applications online, and could also comply them on same platform. This also enabled rollout of online delivery of public services ranging from tax payment to availing of miscellaneous certificates, mutation against sale deeds of land, payment of land premium, Government fees etc.

Government offices also delivered certificates, clearances, receipt against deposits etc on line to the citizens and business enterprises.
Chief Secretary Sri Mahapatra also directed CMGI and NIC to “work out a definite time frame for application of e-office in all the offices that are not included in OSWAS network.

Speaking on the occasion, Development Commissioner Sri Pradeep Kumar Jena said, “CMGI has progressed a lot in implementation of e-Office in more than 836 Government offices. E-Office is an integrated suit addressing all issues of handling Government files from initiation to approval and communication of results/orders. It makes Government servants more responsible and accountable in disposal of files”.

Outlining the e-office system, Principal Secretary General Administration and Public Grievance Sri Surendra Kumar said “Government of Odisha is forerunner at national level in use of digital technology for file processing through successful implementation of OSWAS”. As digitization of all files for bringing all offices into OSWAS fold would take long time, the State Government decided to implement e-Office in joint collaboration between NIC and CMGI.

He added, objective was set to implement e-office in all autonomous bodies, public sector undertakings and Universities. The system is user-friendly and accessible through standard internet browser. Its implementation started under 5-T framework of Odisha Government.

Executive Director CMGI Sri Satya Priya Rath appraised, “Efforts are on to implement e-office in 100 more offices shortly”. He added that the acceptance and functioning of e-Offices in the Government departments and corporations was quite encouraging.”

Principal Secretary and Chairman OHPC Sri Bishnupada Sethi, Vice Chancellor Jagannath Sanskrit University Prof Rabindra Kumar Panda, Commissioner Cuttack Municipal Corporation Sri Nikhil Pavan Kalyan, Deputy Director General of NIC Odisha Smt Kabita Roy Das, Additional Secretary Sri Debabrata Mallik, Project Coordinator CMGI Sri Pinaki Mohanty along with senior officers from concerned departments participated in the launching ceremony.