Hockey India announces its Junior Women’s Team, Odisha CM congratulates State’s three players

Published: Jan 9, 2021, 4:12 pm IST

The Samikhsya Bureau

NEW DELHI/BHUBANESWAR: The Hockey India announced the named the 24-member Indian Junior Women’s Hockey team for Chile trip on Friday.

The team will face the Junior Chile squad on January 17 and 18.

It will also take on the Senior Chile Team on four occasions on January 20, 21, 23 and 24.

The Indian squad will be led by its Captain Suman Devi Thoudam.

While Ishika Chaudhary has been appointed as the Vice Captain, the other team members include Khushboo, Rashanpreet Kaur, Mahima Choudhary, Priyanka, Gagandeep KaurSushma Kumari, Akshata Dhekale, Baljeet Kaur, Chetna, Mariana Kujur, Ajmina Kujur, Reet Prabhleen Kaur, Vaishnavi Phalke, Preeti, Jiwan Kishori Toppo, Mumtaz Khan, Rutuja Pisal, Sangita Kumari, Beauty Dungdung, Lalrindiki and Deepika.

Meanwhile the inclusion of three players from Odisha in the Team has caused much cheers among the people of the State.

The three girls selected for the national squad are Mariana Kujur, Ajmina Kujur and Jiwan Kishori Toppo.

Odisha Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik has greeted the three players.

“Congratulate #Odisha’s Mariana Kujur, Ajmina Kujur and Jiwan Kishori Toppo on making it to the Indian Junior Women’s Hockey squad for the 6-match tour to Chile. Best wishes to the team”, the Chief Minister tweeted.