8 BJP candidates file their nominations for Rajya Sabha in UP

New Delhi: In Uttar Pradesh, eight BJP candidates filed their nominations for Rajya Sabha today which is the last day for filing papers for the biennial elections to the Upper House. The elections to 11 seats of the Rajya Sabha in state are due on 10th of June. Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath along with Deputy Chief Ministers Keshav Prasad Maurya and Brijesh Pathak were present on the occasion.

The BJP candidates who filed their nominations today includes former State Unit Chief Laxmikant Vajpayee, Radhamohan Agrawal, sitting Rajya Sabha MP Surendra Singh Nagar, Bauburam Nishad, Mithilesh Kumar and K. Lakshman.

The party gave tickets to two women — Darshana Singh and Sangeeta Yadav, from the state and they also filed their papers today. Three other candidates Javed Ali from Samajwadi Party, Rashtriya Lok Dal Chief Jayant Chaudhari and farmer Congress leader Kapil Sibal have already filed their nominations.

With 273 MLAs in the State Assembly, the ruling BJP-led NDA will easily be able to get eight members elected to the Upper House of Parliament, while the Samajwadi Party and its allies, with a strength of 125 legislators, will be able to ensure the victory of three candidates.

Among the 11 retiring MPs from the state, five are from the BJP, three from the SP, two from the BSP and one from the Congress. The five retiring MPs of the BJP are Zafar Islam, Shiv Pratap Shukla, Sanjay Seth, Surendra Nagar and Jai Prakash Nishad.

The SP leaders completing their terms include former Uttar Pradesh Legislative Council Chairman Sukhram Singh Yadav, Reoti Raman Singh and Vishambhar Prasad Nishad. The BSP MPs whose term is coming to an end are Satish Chandra Misra and Ashok Siddharth. The term of Kapil Sibal of the Congress is also ending in July. Only Surendra Singh Nagar and Kapil Sibal filed their nominations for their next term this time.