Centre deploys multi-disciplinary teams in ten States to contain COVID-19

New Delhi: Multi-disciplinary Central teams have been deployed in ten identified States which are reporting rise in Covid 19 cases including new variant Omicron and slow vaccination. Union Health Ministry said, the teams have been sent to Kerala, Maharashtra, Tamil Nadu, West Bengal, Mizoram, Karnataka, Bihar, Uttar Pradesh, Jharkhand, and Punjab.

These teams will be stationed in States for 3 to 5 days and will work along with State Health Authorities in the management of Covid-19.

The teams will specifically look at areas of contact tracing, including surveillance and containment operations and COVID-19 testing including sending of adequate samples from clusters for genome sequencing. The teams will also focus on ensuring COVID appropriate behaviour, availability of hospital beds, sufficient logistics including ventilators and medical oxygen.

They will also look at COVID-19 vaccination progress. The central teams will assess the situation, suggest remedial actions and submit a report every evening on the public health activities being undertaken.