EC to deploy 653 companies of central forces for 7th phase WB polls

Published: Apr 25, 2021, 12:15 pm IST

New Delhi, Election Commission has decided to deploy 653 companies of central forces for the seventh phase of Assembly elections in West Bengal. 34 constituencies spread over five districts will go to polls in this phase tomorrow.

Out of five districts going to the polls in the seventh phase, three districts — Malda, Murshidabad and South Dinajpur — share borders with Bangladesh. Deployment of forces in these three bordering districts is far more than in the other two districts, indicating that the poll panel is trying to plug infiltration attempts during the elections. The move is aimed to preventing any kind of violence during the polling and ensuring free, fair and peaceful voting