Elected Vice President of India Jagdeep Dhankhar to be sworn-in on Aug 11

New Delhi: National Democratic Alliance (NDA) candidate Jagdeep Dhankhar has been elected as India’s 14th Vice-President of India. Mr Dhankhar received 528 votes defeating the Opposition’s candidate, Ms. Margaret Alva, who got 182 votes.

Dhankhar swept the polls with 72.8 per cent of the valid votes cast during the polls yesterday. His victory margin is highest in last six Vice Presidential polls.

Dhankhar will take oath of office on Thursday (11th August), a day after the term of the incumbent Vice-President M Venkaiah Naidu ends. Mr Dhankhar will also be appointed the ex-officio Chairman of Rajya Sabha.

President Droupadi Murmu, Vice President M Venkaiah Naidu, Prime Minister Narendra Modi, Union Ministers and several other leaders have congratulated  Mr Dhankhar on winning the Vice-Presidential election.