Teachers’ Day: President to confer National Awards to 46 teachers

New Delhi: Teachers’ Day is being celebrated throughout the country today. The day is celebrated on the birth anniversary of educationist and former President Dr Sarvepalli Radhakrishnan.

President Droupadi Murmu will confer National Awards to 46 selected teachers for the year 2022 in New Delhi today. The Department of School Education and Literacy, Ministry of Education has been organising a national level function on Teachers Day every year to confer the National Awards to best teachers of the country. The selection is done through a transparent and online three stage selection process.

The purpose of National Awards to Teachers is to celebrate the unique contribution of teachers in the country and to honour those teachers who through their commitment and industry have not only improved the quality of school education but also enriched the lives of their students.

Prime Minister Narendra Modi will interact with the winners of National Awards to Teachers 2022 at his residence today.

President Droupadi Murmu has greeted teachers across the country on the occasion of Teachers’ Day. In a message, Ms Murmu said the teachers are continuously trying to improve their capabilities and proficiency through new research, experiments and innovations. The President expressed confidence that the efforts of the teachers will help the country to achieve new heights in the field of education.