Tripura Election 2023: Voters in queue

Tripura Election 2023

Tripura Election 2023: In Tripura, voting has started to elect a new 60-Member Legislative Assembly. Polling started at 7 in the morning and will conclude at 4 PM. Over 28 lakh voters will decide the electoral fate of 259 candidates, including 22 women. There are a total of 3 thousand 336 polling booths in the state.

The Election Commission has set up model polling booths as well as all women, all youth and all Divyangs polling booths. Adequate security measures have been put in place to ensure peaceful polling. BJP, Congress, Left Front, TIPRA Motha and TMC candidates have left no stone unturned woo the voters.

Senior BJP leader and incumbent Chief Minister Dr. Manik Saha, Union Minister Pratima Bhowmik, State BJP President Rajib Bhattacharjee, Deputy Chief Minister Jishnu Debbarman, senior CPI-M leader Jitendra Choudhury and Pabitra Kar, State Congress President Birjit Sinha and former minister Sudip Roy Barman are among those in the contest.

In Tripura, all 3,337 polling stations have more than one polling agent from political parties. Polling started in all 60 assembly constituencies. EVMs, which were not functioning properly, were replaced expeditiously by the Engineers. Long queues are seen in all polling stations early in the morning. All security measures have been put in place for smooth and peaceful polling.