Kohli, Rohit and Rahul’s heroics help India seal series 2-1

Cuttack: Skipper Virat Kohli’s brillaint knock of 85 off 81 (9 fours), openers Rohit Sharma’s 63 off 63 (8 fours 1 six), and KL Rahul’s 77 off 89 (8 fours, 1 six) helped India beat Windies by 4 wickets sealing the series 2-1 in the third and final ODI here at Barabati Stadium on Sunday.

However, in the 49th over’s fifth ball Keemo Paul overstepped fetching India one run of no ball and sealing the series 2-1. Ravindra Jadeja 39 off 31 (4 fours) and Shardul Thakur 17 off 6 with 2 fours and one six remained unbeaten.

Earlier, India skipper Virat Kohli won the toss and opted to field putting Windies to bat first. Nicholas Pooran 89 off 64 (10 fours, 3 sixes) and skipper Kieron Pollard’s  74 off 51 not out (3 fours, 7 sixes) 135 runs for the fifth wicket put West Indies to 315/5 in 50 overs.

West Indies openers Evin Lewis and Shai Hope gave a good start and added 57 runs for the first wicket, but it was Ravindra Jadeja who gave early breakthrough for India scalping wicket of Lewis in 15th over at the long-on caught by debutant Saini. West Indies lost their first wicket at 1/57. Lewis scored 21 off 50 ( 3 fours).

After Lewis exit, Chase came in and along with Shai Hope put in 13 runs for the second wicket, but then Shai Hope who was looking dangerous was bowled by Mohammed Shami  in 20th over. Windies second wicket fell at 70. Hope slammed 42 off 50 (5 fours).

With Hope’s ouster Hetmyer came in and further shaped the Windies innings with Chase taking the score to 62 runs for the third wicket and looked for a bigger partnership, but Hetmyer form came to a halt when Saini picket his wicket in 30th over caught by Kuldeep Yadav.  Hetmyer’s 37 came in 33 balls with 2 fours and 2 sixes.

Windies third wicket fell at 132. After Hetmyer, Chase stayed for a short stint throwing his wicket after being bowled by Saini grabbing his second wicket in 32nd over. Chase scored 38 off 48 which included 3 fours. Then skipper Pollard and Nicholas Pooran took Windies to 135 runs stand for the fifth wicket. The duo blasted 74 off 51 not out (3 fours, 7 sixes) and Pooran      89 off 64 (10 fours, 3 sixes).

However, Windies fifth wicket fell in form of Pooran caught by Jadeja bowled by Thakur in 48th over. Pollard 74 off 51 and Holder 7 off 4 remained not out and added 36 runs for the sixth wicket. Navdeep Saini 2/58, Jadeja, Shami and Thakur grabbed one wickets each for India.