Bhubaneswar Tennis Centre: Naveen inaugurates

Bhubaneswar Tennis Centre:

Bhubaneswar Tennis Centre: With just few days to go for the ITF Asia U14 and Under Development Championship 2023 to commence in Bhubaneswar, Chief Minister Sri Naveen Patnaik today inaugurated the Tennis Centre at the Kalinga Stadium Sports Complex. He also launched the logo and jersey of the upcoming international tennis tournament.

The Tennis Centre is certified by International Tennis Federation and features one synthetic centre court with a gallery seating for 1400, gymnasium, players changing room, auditorium, and rooms for dignitaries, media room, broadcast and administrative purpose. The Tennis Centre has been developed at a cost of Rs 25 Crore.

The Tennis Complex at Kalinga Stadium with 8 synthetic is now capable of hosting matches under the aegis of International Tennis Federation and Asian Tennis Federation.

Chief Minister Patnaik congratulated the Odisha Tennis Association and Sports Department for working closely to develop Tennis in the state. He said, “Kalinga Stadium Sports Complex has been admired as a hub of sports and a premier training ground that is nurturing champions of the future.

Addition of the Tennis Centre strengthens our ecosystem further which will help our Tennis players to compete and excel at national international events. It will also help unearth hidden talents and nurture potential medallists.”

Noteworthy to mention that Odisha Tennis players, Kabir Hans, Debasis Sahoo, Sohini Sanjay Mohanty and Aradhya Verma have been making their mark in the Tennis circuits and OTA and Sports Department are focusing on creating a road map for sustainable high performance by youth tennis players of the state.

On this occasion, Chief Minister Sri Patnaik also felicitated sportspersons Archana Majhi (Kho kho), Swadhin Majhi (Athletics), Debasis Sahoo (Tennis) and Jayanti Behera (Para athletics), for their achievements at various international events.

Furthermore, prior to the inauguration, Sports Minister Tusharkanti Behera felicitated 45 athletes with cash awards for their achievements at various national events.

Dignitaries present at this inauguration include Chief Secretary PK Jena, Development Commissioner Anu Garg, Secretary to CM (5T) V K Pandian, Sports and youth services Secretary Vineel Krishna, President OTA, Asit Tripathy, Secretary Satyajit Mohanty and other officials of OTA and Sports Department.