BJP out to destabilise all non-BJP state governments, Mallikarjuna Kharge on Karnataka crisis

mallikarjuna kharge

Charging that the central BJP leaders and the Union government was directly behind the destabilising the democratically elected government in Karnataka, senior Congress leader Mallikarjuna Kharge expressed confidence that the disgruntled Congress and JD(S) MLAs, will have a rethink on decision to resign from the Assembly.

Speaking to newsmen in Bengaluru on Sunday, he said that “I am trying to reach out to the disgruntled Congress MLAs, and hear their grievances”.

Maintaining that the BJP government at the Centre as well as state BJP leaders in Karnataka was behind the resignations of the Congress and the JD(S) MLAs, he said: “It is a well known fact that the disgruntled MLAs were flown out from Karnataka to Mumbai in a special flight arranged by the BJP leaders.”

Accusing that the BJP is trying to destabilise all the non-BJP state governments in the country, he said: “So far the BJP leaders had succeeded in toppling as many as 14 non-BJP governments.”

Expressing apprehension that the democracy itself is at stake in the country, he said, “It is unfair on the part of the BJP leaders, who were not stomaching the fact over regional parties as well as non-BJP national parties coming to power.”

Referring to the political crisis in Karnataka, he said that the assembly session had been convened on 12th of this month, “let us see how many disgruntled MLAs, would violate the whip”.
He also expressed confidence that the disgruntled MLAs, whose resignations are yet to be accepted by the speaker, may change their decisions, and turn the table on the BJP. (UNI)