11.85% polling in Jharkhand till 9 a.m.

Ranchi, Dec 16 Jharkhand recorded 11.85 per cent voting till 9 a.m. in the fourth phase of Assembly polls on Monday.

According to the Election Commission data the highest polling has been recorded in the Tundi Assembly with 14.91 per cent and the lowest in Giridih with 6.6 per cent.

There are a total of 221 candidates including 23 females in the fray in this phase. The maximum, 25 candidates, are contesting from the Bokaro seat while the minimum, eight candidate, are trying their luck from the Nirsa seat.

Out of 15 seats, three — Deoghar, Jamua and Chandankiyari — are reserved for Scheduled Castes while remaining 12 are general seats.

A total of 47,81,422 voters are eligible to cast their votes in these 15 Assembly constituencies that spread across four districts — Deoghar, Giridih, Bokaro and Dhanbad.

On 10 seats, polling will take place between 7 a.m. and 5 p.m., while on the remaining seats, which include Bagodar, Jamua, Giridih, Dumri and Tundi, the voting will end at 3 p.m.

A total of 6,101 booths have been set up for voting out of which 4,296 fall in the rural areas.

In Maoist affected areas, 587 booths have been marked as “very sensitive” and 405 are “sensitive” while in the non-Maoist areas, 546 booths are “very sensitive” and 2,665 are “sensitive”.

Prominent candidates who are in the race for these seats included Labour Minister Raj Paliwar, Tourism Development Amar Kumar Bauri, Ragni Singh, Raj Kishore Mahto and Dhullu Mahto.