West Bengal 5th phase election concludes with high turnout

New Delhi, Polling was today conducted peacefully in 15,789 Polling Stations spread across 45 Assembly Constituencies, in the fifth phase of elections in the State of West Bengal as well as in the Bye-Election in 2 Parliamentary Constituencies and 12 Assembly Constituencies across 10 States.

Bye-Elections were also conducted in the Parliamentary Constituencies Tirupati (SC), Andhra Pradesh and Belgaum, Karnataka today. Bye-Elections were conducted in the Assembly Constituencies Morva Hadaf (ST), Gujarat; Madhupur, Jharkhand; Basavakalyan and Maski (ST), Karnataka; Damoh, Madhya Pradesh; Pandharpur, Maharashtra; Serchhip (ST), Mizoram; Sahara, Sujangarh (SC) and Rajsamand, Rajasthan; Nagarjuna Sagar, Telangana and Salt, Uttarakhand today.

Polling at 56-Samserganj Assembly Constituency & 58-Jangipur Assembly Constituency West Bengal scheduled on 26 April stands adjourned due to death of Indian National Congress candidate and Revolutionary Socialist Party candidate respectively. Polling in Bye-Election to Pipili Assembly Constituency Odisha stands adjourned due to death of Indian National Congress candidate. These political parties will be provided an opportunity to nominate another candidate for which fresh notification shall be issued by the Commission.

Only one candidate filed nomination for Bye-Election to Noksen (ST) Assembly Constituency in Nagaland. Hence the candidate was elected unopposed.

In the Phase V of West Bengal Assembly Elections, the total number of PwD electors and 80+ electors are 60,198 and 1,79,634 respectively. A total of 15,789 Ballot Units (BUs), 15,789 Control Units(CUs) and 15,789 VVPATs were used in West Bengal during this phase. 8266 (52.35%) out of 15789 polling stations are monitored live through webcasting.