President Ram Nath Kovind to confer Padma Awards for the year 2022

New Delhi: President Ram Nath Kovind will confer two Padma Vibhushan, eight Padma Bhushan, and 54 Padma Shri Awards today for the year 2022. Mr. Kovind will present the award at the Civil Investiture Ceremony-I to be held at Rashtrapati Bhavan.

Amongst the prominent awardees at today’s Investiture ceremony will be Padma Vibhushan recipients – Radhey Shyam and General Bipin Rawat (Posthumous). Ghulam Nabi Azad, Gurmeet Bawa (Posthumous), N. Chandrasekharan, Devendra Jhajharia, Rashid Khan, Rajiv Mehrishi, Dr. Cyrus Poonawalla, and Sachchidanand Swami will receive the Padma Bhushan awards. The Civil Investiture Ceremony -II is scheduled to be held on 28th March.

The Awards are conferred in three categories, – Padma Vibhushan, Padma Bhushan, and Padma Shri. These Awards are given in various disciplines such as art, social work, public affairs, science and engineering, trade and industry, medicine, literature and education, sports, and civil service.

Padma Vibhushan is awarded for exceptional and distinguished service. While Padma Bhushan is awarded for distinguished service of high order and Padma Shri for distinguished service in any field. The awards are announced on the occasion of Republic Day every year.

This year a total of 128 Padma Awards are being conferred. The list of awardees comprises four Padma Vibhushan, 17 Padma Bhushan, and 107 Padma Shri Awards. Home Ministry said, 34 of the awardees are women.