Election Commission bans Exit Polls

The Samikhsya Bureau

NEW DELHI: The Election Commission of India has banned conduct and publishing of any exit polls on the ensuing general elections till April 29.

The Commission, in exercise of the powers under sub-section (1)of Section 126A of the Representation of the People Act, 1951 has notified the period between 7 am on 27th March and 7.30 pm 29th April as the period during which conducting any exit poll and publishing or publicizing the result of exit poll by means of the print or electronic media or in any other manner shall be prohibited in the ongoing elections.

The ban covers the General Elections to the Legislative Assemblies of Assam, Kerala, Tamil Nadu, West Bengal and Puducherry and Bye Elections to the House of the People and Legislative Assemblies of various states.

Further, under Section 126(1)(b) of the Representation of the People Act, 1951,displaying any election matter including results of any opinion poll or any other poll survey, in any electronic media, would be prohibited during the period of 48 hours ending with the hour fixed for conclusion of poll in the respective polling areas in each phase of the aforesaid General election and bye-elections, the Commission has clarified.